On Being 47

Looking Back

46 is already behind me and now I am 47; newly 47. Today is my birthday.

46 was a good year. I moved into a new house. I worked hard. I visited Paris, Sicily and Rome (more on that in future posts). I cemented existing friendships and let others fade away. It happens. That’s life.

onbeing470187

Being 46 (just!) in Rome.

What did I learn? I don’t think I acquired any new skills – sad to say – but I was constantly reminded of several things:

  • Take nothing for granted.
  • The battle is never won.
  • Buyer beware!
  • Be nice but never obsequious.
  • Work hard but take time out to de-stress.
  • Smell the roses.

I have also learned, or perhaps re-learned, that when you can’t get your own way, a little reverse psychology can work wonders 🙂

Looking Forward

Things I should do while I’m busy being 47:

  • Work, but not harder, just do things differently and always explore ways of doing things better.
  • Move more in order to fight off incipient decreptitude.
  • Eat more greens.
  • Drink more water.
  • Go to the hairdresser regularly and experiment with growing out my artificial colour and letting myself go grey.
  • Write in my diary regularly.
  • Discover new music.
  • Take care of my garden and outsmart that neighbourhood cat that keeps pooping in the stones around our shrubbery.
  • Laugh!
  • Read more.
  • Be less judgemental.
  • Learn some Spanish.

I think that should keep me pretty busy.

About cityoflu

Secret Agent Lu likes travelling, reading, neuroses (all kinds), the Orient, cities, feet and science.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Being 47

  1. No wonder I love reading your blog, Lu. I also celebrated my birthday nearly the same day as yours but two days earlier. It sounds like you did have a great year, and I hope this coming year is just as lovely. Happy belated birthday!

Leave a Reply

