Look Back at Paris

For now, this is my last post about our short trip to Paris.

The highlights of the trip were:

  • spending time with my 70 year-old mum who I don’t see very often because she lives in Australia and I live in Italy;
  • spending time with Signor Lu away from the domestic front; and
  • doing both of the above in the captivating city of Paris, the surface of which we barely scratched.

The Paris marathon

It hasn’t been a good year for marathons, has it? The New York one cancelled because of Hurricane Sandy. The Boston event marred by acts of terrorism. In contrast, the Paris marathon seemed to be running smoothly – but I bet the Parisian pavements are hard on the joints.

We watched as the runners went by.

We watched as the runners went by.

La dolce vita? Wrong city, perhaps.

While we were out on the Parisian streets, doing our own personal marathon, I let my mum stop for a caffeine fix. (Kind-hearted, aren’t I?)  Her verdict? French coffee is not that great. Or drinkable, even. To be fair, some of the cafés we stopped at were in highly touristic areas and could get away with serving any old muck because they clearly did not depend on customer loyalty. This happens in Italy, too, of course.

café

Actually, we didn’t stop at this particular café.

Sweet Paris 

On our final morning, we visited the café on the 6th floor of the Lafayette department store. It was a little difficult to find this coffee spot.

The pastries looked inviting – especially the strawberry ones – but Signor Lu and I were able to resist them because we’d had a generous buffet breakfast at the hotel. My mum, in contrast, still had an appetite. (Go septuagenarians! They’re taking over the world, you know.)

pastries

Capitalism

It’s always reassuring to see protest posters in a city.

Capitalism has many faults but I’m not entirely against it.

What I’m more opposed to is mindless consumerism (which capitalism encourages) and fat cat politicians and bankers who misuse and misappropriate the funds they preside over.

I’m strongly opposed to exploitation, too, of course.

capitalism

Thatcher

And that brings me to Margaret Thatcher, who died while we were in the City of Light. Her politics were too hard, too lacking in compassion for me but she certainly left her mark. And she won’t be forgotten in a hurry.

thatcherdies

The French headlines roughly read:

Le Parisien: Something about love and hate (pardon my poor translation).

Libération: The grim reaper

Le Figaro: The woman that changed Great Britain

The End!

About cityoflu

Secret Agent Lu likes travelling, reading, neuroses (all kinds), the Orient, cities, feet and science.
This entry was posted in Cities, Journeys and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Look Back at Paris

  1. Lu, I thoroughly enjoyed all of your recent Parisian-related posts! My husband has travelled to France several times when he was younger and although I have not, I do hope to visit. Those Maggie Thatcher magazines are something else!! Thanks for yet another fabulous post!

    • cityoflu says:

      Thanks so much Patti. I always enjoy reading your blog too. Your last post was particularly captivating – I really felt the artist’s pain at the loss of her friend.

Leave a Reply

