Paris

I survived Paris.

As I wrote previously, on my first trip to Paris I had an encounter with a pickpocket.

So on this second trip, I tried to stay alert at all times. I tried to imagine I was a ninja.

I was with my 70-year-old mother and Signor Lu.

We had only one unwelcome approach: a young man at the Pompidou Centre asked Signor Lu for a light. “No!!” I barked at the stranger, as I stared him down.  Insouciantly, he moved away and bothered someone else.

For the remainder of the time, no one interfered with our trio.

We bought a 2-day ticket for the metro and used it a lot. Up and down stairs and escalators we went, checking the map, plotting a course, selecting the exit that best matched our needs.

Where I live (Mantova, Italy) the transport options are:

  • the car
  • the ponderously slow bus
  • the train
  • the bicycle (sharing narrow roads with speeding vehicles)
  • feet

Therefore, for me, the Paris metro is a curiously delightful, multi-tentacled wonder.

I enjoyed our subterranean travels as much as I enjoyed arriving at our above-ground destinations.

And of course, some Paris metro stations are graced by pleasingly retro signage.

paris2013 004

Even ninjas on a city break can’t  resist whipping out their iPhones and taking a quick snap of iconic fonts or metro stations with special themes.

paris2013 005

The Arts et Mêtiers (Arts and Crafts) station has been transformed into a version of Jules Verne’s Nautilus submarine.

More blog posts about Paris to come.

About cityoflu

Secret Agent Lu likes travelling, reading, neuroses (all kinds), the Orient, cities, feet and science.
This entry was posted in Cities, Journeys and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

