City of Bats

Bats freak me out: warm-blooded, furry animals with teeth AND wings.

Some bats shriek, too – because they’re blind and they want to warn everyone to get out of their way. (Come to think of it, I know some drivers who are like that.)

I have two Italian bat stories.

BAT STORY NO. 1.

One day I was in our garage, which also doubles as a laundry. I noticed that there was a rolled-up, black sock in my laundry bucket. I grabbed the black, misshapen ball and immediately realized that it was not a sock. Oh no: It was a bat. A dead bat. A dead, squishy bat and I’d given it a good squeeze with my bare hand! Eeeek! (I tell myself it was dead because the alternative is too creepy to think about.)

I made my husband dispose of the dead bat when he came home from work.

Since that day, I always wear my glasses when I do the laundry and I inspect rolled-up, black socks very, very carefully before I touch them.

BAT STORY NO. 2

This week I was putting my car in the garage in the afternoon. I went to close the garage doors but couldn’t because a bat was lying in the doorway. It was twitching its wings and moving its little face about. It seemed to be injured.

Clearly, in order to close the garage doors, I was going to have to move the poor creature. I grabbed a broom and gently tried to sweep the bat out of the way.

The little beast was not amused. It did an impression of a Tasmanian Devil and hissed and snarled at me.

So I retaliated and took a photo of it with my iPhone.

The bat that darkened my garage doorway.

Then I swept the bat against an exterior wall into the full blaze of the sun. (The area around our garage is all sun in the afternoon.)

I left the bat there and went upstairs but felt guilty because I know bats are nocturnal creatures and they probably hate to be out in the hot sun without any protection as much as I do.

Bats have a good side too: they eat mosquitoes – and the mosquito population here is completely and utterly out of control.

So I went downstairs to check on the bat, but it had disappeared. There was no sign of it. I just hope it had managed to gather its strength and fly off to the shadows somewhere.

Naturally, later on, I gave the bat the instagram and diptic treatment.

THE MORAL OF THESE STORIES

The moral of these stories is that I do not have a good batting average.

The next time I encounter one of these flying, furry mammals, my goal is to be of service to it. I will try to rescue it in some way (if it needs to be rescued) so that it can do its bit to control the mosquito population.

Bats: you still freak me out but I’m on your side.

THE END

About cityoflu

Secret Agent Lu likes travelling, reading, neuroses (all kinds), the Orient, cities, feet and science.
This entry was posted in Cities, Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

