Asparagus

One of Spring’s many delights is asparagus.

I love asparagus for its herby, fields-of-green, grassy taste.

So far this Spring I’ve had:

  • fat green asparagus
  • thin green asparagus and
  • white asparagus (which I had to peel – worth the effort as it was wonderful in a risotto with home-made stock and a little onion.)

I’ve read that you should moderate your consumption of asparagus. Too much may interfere with the functioning of the blood’s anti-coagulants. And I can verify that it has a certain effect on your pee.

But I find it hard to restrain myself. Knowing that asparagus will disappear from greengrocers’ shelves all too soon doesn’t help matters.

On a walk around the Italian city where I live, I took photos of asparagus dishes listed on restaurant menus. As far as I’m concerned, all other dishes pale into insignificance when asparagus is in town.

In case you can’t spot them, the asparagus dishes are:

  • vitello tonnato con asparagi, uova di quaglia e capperi di Pantelleria (veal with tuna sauce, asparagus, quail eggs and capers from the island of Pantelleria )
  • riso morbido agli asparagi e fontina (rice with asparagus and “fontina” cheese)
  • tagliolini bianchi con salmone fresco, asparagi ed erbe aromatiche (white “tagliolini” with fresh salmon, asparagus and aromatic herbs) and
  • soufflé di asparagi con salsa al basilico (asparagus soufflé with basil sauce)

I have no plans to dine at any of the above eateries (for pure and simple economic reasons) but I do plan to experiment with their ideas at home (especially tagliolini bianchi con salmone fresco, asparagi ed erbe aromatiche.)

And I want to find a killer recipe for asparagus soup before the season ends – otherwise I’ll have to wait until next Spring. That would be far too long!

About cityoflu

Secret Agent Lu likes travelling, reading, neuroses (all kinds), the Orient, cities, feet and science.
This entry was posted in Food, Italy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Asparagus

  1. Karen says:

    I love the way fresh asparagus is celebrated in Italy and all of the dishes sound great. I think I would have to order the soufflé.

Leave a Reply

