The Literature Festival

Every September Mantua hosts a festivaletteratura – a literature festival.

The festival consists of hundreds of events, mostly talks or interviews with writers, many of whom are novelists.

I am an avid festival-goer.  Once upon a time I used to read some of the books of the writers I went to see. But in recent years I’ve been less conscientious. In fact, I find myself reading less fiction and more non-fiction (blogs included) as I get older. This has something to do with feeling that I don’t know anything, and a desire to be less ignorant.

Also, I sometimes find fiction very disappointing.  Once upon a time I didn’t mind reading mediocre literature.  I knew that when I finished a less than gripping novel, I would have the pleasure of analysing why I didn’t like it and picking the book to pieces.

But these days I can’t be bothered with that approach.

I like that the word novel has a double meaning – (1) something new and (2) a fictitious prose tale of considerable length (thank you Oxford dictionary).  However, when I read a novel these days, it’s usually something I’ve already read and liked, so the reading experience is hardly novel.

But the funny thing is, when I re-read a book, I often find that I’ve forgotten interesting sub-plots and even sometimes the ending (!) so there is a certain novelty value in that.

As much as I enjoyed this year’s literature festival, which finished on Sunday, it didn’t inspire me to change my reading habits. Not in the short-term anyway.

Here are some images from my iPhone of the past few days.

Day 1 of the festival (last Wednesday). The action was elsewhere that day.

Day 2 of the festival. The book tent.

No festival is complete without free magazines.

I was sitting wayyyy at the back for this event.

I endured the heat and humidity (Mantua is so humid! I don’t think I will ever acclimatize) and went to 5 events this year, all of which were stimulating. I’ll be blogging about them over the next few days /weeks. (Yes, that’s right: I shall be blogging about writers whose books I’ve never read and have no immediate intention of reading!)

Long live books!

About cityoflu

Secret Agent Lu likes travelling, reading, neuroses (all kinds), the Orient, cities, feet and science.
This entry was posted in Books, Cities, Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Literature Festival

  1. Pingback: Two Very Different Writers | City of Lu

  2. Pingback: Two Literary Guests | City of Lu

Leave a Reply

