Good Friday in Italy

Good Friday?

It was just like any other Friday…except the schools were closed. Everything else was open. I can never get used to the fact that Good Friday is not a public holiday here.  Not like Melbourne where I have vivid memories of EVERYTHING being closed on the Friday before the  Easter weekend: a religious and sacred observation of the ensuing public holidays (Easter Saturday, Easter Monday, Easter Tuesday even.)

But not here.  The Easter holiday is basically confined to one day: Easter Monday (Pasquetta in Italian).

At least I was able to get stuff done:

1. I went to the bank and only had to wait 20 minutes in a queue to deposit 2 paltry cheques into my account (one was from Vodafone who had FINALLY acknowledged that they had overcharged me – thank you my dears for admitting you were wrong!)

2. I took a load of documents to the accountant whose fees make Vodafone’s overcharging look amateurish (it’s all tax deductible, so they tell me).

3. I did some grocery shopping and bumped into the parents of my favourite private student.  My student was there as well – she looked bored out of her mind to be out shopping with mamma and papa, yet hopeful that some Easter treats might be in store (she’s a teenager).

4. I did some reading for my next assignment. I was hoping that this reading would CLARIFY some issues but instead it has made them seem more COMPLEX.

5. I didn’t receive any annoying phone calls from telemarketers trying to sell me things I neither want nor can afford.

Good Friday?  I’ve had worse.

About cityoflu

Secret Agent Lu likes travelling, reading, neuroses (all kinds), the Orient, cities, feet and science.
This entry was posted in Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

